April 10, 2012

RSU Band Presents April 23 Spring Concert

The Rogers State University Jazz Ensemble and Concert Band will perform a spring concert at 7:30 p.m., Monday, April 23, in the Will Rogers Auditorium.

The concert is free and open to the public. Canned food items will be collected at the door benefitting the Good Samaritan Pantry at the First United Methodist Church of Claremore.

The RSU Concert Band will start the performance with pieces including "Largo from the New World Symphony" by Dvorak, "Dreams" by Robert W. Smith, "Flourish for Winds" by Gary Fagan and "Confluence" by Richard L. Saucedo. In addition to RSU students, the band features community members from Claremore, Collinsville, Foyil, Inola and Oologah.

The RSU Jazz Ensemble will play selections including "Brail" by Ary Barroso, "A Child is Born" by Thad Jones, "Pick Yourself Up" by Jerome Kern and Gordon Goodwin's "Work in Progress."

The RSU music program provides an opportunity for students to hone their instrumental and performance skills in a university environment. Members of the community also are invited to participate.

"We are developing a program that really showcases the talents of our students and community performers," said Kirk Weller, RSU director of bands. "We are pleased to organize this free public concert as part of the university's continued artistic outreach efforts in the Claremore region."

For more information about the spring concert or the music program, contact Kirk Weller at 918-343-7723 or

RSU students who will participate in the concert are (listed by home town):

  • Claremore: T.J. Eastman, Erin Heraghty, Laura Kausek, Becky McDaniel and Andrew Williams
  • Cleveland: Bethany Henley
  • Oologah: Rowdy Sellmeyer
  • Owasso: Jeffery Johns
  • Salina: Ricky Paul Ward
  • Tulsa: Caleb Demarais and Robert Kiefer