RSU News

August 16, 2010

RSU Student Leaders Study History of State Leaders

In November, Oklahoma will experience the historic milestone of electing its first female governor. Rogers State University's President's Leadership Class (PLC) will study many similar moments in Oklahoma leadership this year through classroom work, reading and a recent trip to several of the state's most historic sites.

Each year, members of the PLC make a journey to study remarkable acts of leadership.

This year, 54 PLC members journeyed to Oklahoma City on Hillcat buses and toured the Oklahoma History Center, the State Capitol, the Governor's Mansion and the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial. They were accompanied by RSU President Dr. Larry Rice and First Lady Peggy Rice, Dr. Carolyn Taylor, PLC coordinator, and Stephany Foutch, RSU alumni director.

Before their trip, the students were assigned to read the books "Alternative Oklahoma: Contrarian Views of the Sooner State" by Davis D. Joyce and "Oklahoma: A History" by W. David Baird and Danney Goble. They also were required to write a paper comparing a person or issue from the reading to a contemporary issue in Oklahoma they feel requires the attention of leadership.

"The history of our state offers a wealth of opportunity for our students to learn the attributes and value of exemplary leadership," said President Rice.

Along with visiting the various historic sites, the PLC class also enjoyed stops at the Oklahoma Art Museum, the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum and the Oklahoma City Zoo.

"This trip allows our students to study key acts of leadership by Oklahomans and also provides a bonding experience for members of the PLC," Taylor said. "This camaraderie helps students develop their own leadership skills and strengthens their academic experience."

The President's Leadership Class is a four-year scholarship program designed to develop leadership skills and enhance the academic experience for participants. PLC members coordinate community service projects, spearhead various campus initiatives, attend alumni and other university events and participate in recruitment events at area high schools, serving as ambassadors for the university. They must live on campus and maintain a grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

RSU President's Leadership Class members include the following students. All communities are in Oklahoma unless otherwise noted.

  • Beggs: Allison Rhodes
  • Blackwell: Destiny Allen
  • Bristow: Charity Weigant
  • Broken Arrow: Kylie Hardin
  • Chelsea: Holly Bates
  • Claremore: Chelsea Blackmore, Heidi Gray, Richard Hart, Ellen Lillie, Josh Mulanax, Megen Richardson, Darcy Roach, Amber Roberts,
  • Colcord: Alandra Smith
  • Collinsville: Bea Chang, Chantal Gross, Jessica Windschitl
  • Coweta: Keith Poverud
  • Depew: Brooke Martin, Chelsea Treloar
  • Forney, Tex.: Shelby Brogdon
  • Guthrie: Ryan Kuriger
  • Kremmling, Colo.: Erin Beason
  • Midwest City: Laura Greenlee
  • Morris: Margaret Robinson
  • Muskogee: Courtney Ellison
  • Nowata: Brandice Bartholomew, Cameron Dicken, Andrew Robinson
  • Oktaha: Brittany Nichols, Holly Smith
  • Oklahoma City: Kelsey Romig
  • Okmulgee: Valorie Vernon
  • Oologah: Matthew Gregston
  • Owasso: Mariah Brown, Cassandra Clay, Ashley Garhart
  • Pryor: Casey Grossman
  • Salina: Emily Pritchett
  • Sapulpa: Mitchell Devin, Jessica McQueen
  • Seminole: S. Tanner Kean
  • Siloam Springs, Ark.: Bethany McFerron
  • Stillwell: Chad Littlejohn
  • Tahlequah: Denver Poteet
  • Tulsa: Zach Coker, Caleb Demaris, Michelle Ghazal, Griffin Kane, Elena Martinez, Amy Paschal, Holly Shafer
  • Wagoner: Casey Allison
  • Westville: Lindsey Pharr

For more information on the President's Leadership Class at RSU, contact Dr. Carolyn Taylor at