May 21, 2008

RSU Honors Program Selects Newest Class of Scholars

Nineteen students across the state were selected to join Rogers State University's Honors Program. The students were selected from more than 50 applicants.

"In many ways this is our best class yet. The Honors Program represents student excellence in a variety of fields—academically above all, but also in service to the university and the community. I know that this group of students will make outstanding contributions to RSU," said Dr. Jim Ford, director of the RSU Honors Program.

He noted that the average grade point average for the class is a 3.96, with an average ACT Composite score of 28.

Students selected for the RSU Honors Program will receive a scholarship package that fully covers tuition, fees, books, on-campus housing and a $500 annual stipend.

The program began in January 2005 and will have its first class of graduates at the May 2009 commencement, Ford said.

The honors program offers students unique benefits including priority enrollment and specialized honors classes with curriculum geared for students desiring additional academic challenges. Opportunities also exist for faculty/student joint research projects and other involvement within the student's area of academic interest.

The honors program has a strong "service learning" emphasis that will allow students to work closely with government agencies, social service agencies, or non-commercial entities to round out their academic studies. Such service learning projects will be "real world" experience that directly relates to the student's areas of academic or professional interests.

For more information on the RSU Honors program, call (918) 343-7606 or visit

Those selected for the RSU Honors Program include the following students, listed alphabetically with their high school designated:

  • Kalyn Barnowski, Claremore High School
  • Victor Brown, Claremore High School
  • Cristen Burdell, Owasso High School
  • Cassandra Clay, Owasso High School
  • Monique Demarais, Inola High School
  • Cameron Dicken, Nowata High School
  • Aaron Eddings, Claremore High School
  • Andrew Edwards, Boulevard Christian School in Muskogee
  • Keeley Gibson, Oklahoma Union High School in South Coffeyville, Okla.
  • Amanda Hubbard, Foyil High School
  • Adara Johnson, Tahlequah High School
  • Brandon McGouldrick, Pryor High School
  • Bryan "Austin" Riggs, Claremore High School
  • Kelsey Romig, Carl Albert High School in Oklahoma City
  • Alex Sarntee, Claremore High School
  • David Tyler, Inola High School
  • Ashley Ward, Owasso High School
  • Charity Weignant, Bristow High School
  • Beatriz Woods, Claremore High School