Executive in Residence

2008 Past Lecturer

Mr. Randy FoutchMr. Randy Foutch
Laredo Petroleum

Foutch is the founder of several successful oil and gas firms. His current venture is Laredo Petroleum, an independent oil and gas company with a business strategy focused on the acquisition, exploration and development of oil and gas properties in the Mid-Continent region of the United States.

Prior to the formation of Laredo, Foutch founded Latigo Petroleum Inc., and served as its president and chief executive officer. Latigo was honored as co-winner of the Oklahoma Venture of the Year Award.

Previous to Latigo, Foutch founded Lariat Petroleum Inc. in 1996 and served as president until January 2001 when it was sold to Newfield Exploration Inc. He then served as president and chief executive officer of Newfield Exploration Mid-Continent Inc. and vice president of Newfield Exploration Inc.

Before establishing Lariat, he founded Colt Resources in 1991 and sold it in 1996. Prior to Colt Resources, Foutch was Rocky Mountain regional manager for Anschutz Company and vice president of exploration for Dyco Petroleum.

Foutch currently serves on the board of directors of Bill Barrett Corporation, Helmerich and Payne, the Catholic Foundation of Eastern Oklahoma, and Indian Nations Council/Boy Scouts of America. He also serves on the board of trustees of the University of Tulsa.

He is a board member and president of the Thomas Gilcrease Museum Association and board member emeritus of Leadership Oklahoma. Previously, he served as the chairman of the board for the Oklahoma Energy Resources Board; board member of the Philip Neri Newman Center, Broad Oak Energy, MacroSolve Inc., Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association, and Gryphon Exploration Company; and chairman of the OERB Scholastic Outreach Committee and the International Society of Energy Advocates.

Among many other awards and honors, Foutch received the American Association of Petroleum Geologists’ Public Service Award at its 1999 convention.

Foutch holds a bachelor of science in geology from the University of Texas and a master of science in petroleum engineering from the University of Houston.